Steve Dally's White River Fly Fishing Guide Service

Lynsey Kicks Butt

 

Lynsey and I on Dry Run 3 years ago

 LAST Friday as we were bopping fish up at the Dam, I received a text message from my wife Rabecca. Normally I duck most texts, phone calls etc while I’m working on the river, but hers generally have a purpose and this was a good one

Lynsey, my youngest stepdaughter, had won hot pink fly rod and reel for scoring the most fish of any of the girl participants in the Mountain Home High School’s fishing club outing to Amon Lake. Typically, her first comment when I had a chance to talk to her was that she had caught, and released, more fish than most of the boys.

Lynsey is also the character of the 3 kids. She’s probably the sassiest, and funniest with a wit way older than her 14 years. I end up the butt of most of the gags too, and she makes me laugh, though her independance of spirit, while admirable, can be equally infuriating at times.

The High School has a pretty decent program of after school clubs and I was a little shocked when she jumped at both the fishing and fly tying clubs this year. Over the years I’d introduced/indoctrinated all 3 kids into fly fishing, I guess its pretty pervasive in our lives, but I’ve tried not to be too pushy about it. If they want to go I’ll take them, but every so often I’ll ask.

Lynsey is the most natural, Crystal would be just as happy knitting, and Derek the eldest probably loves it the most but like me had to work to earn the rewards. But Lynsey has something of a gift, our sessions on Dry Run Creek showed that, she picked up mending though she were born to it, discovering on her own, some slick, delicate little rolls, I’ve had a hard time teaching to adults. And she can flat out just catch fish. Now she loves to sightfish, and hunt the better fish.

But on the other hand trying to get her on the water with me  is almost impossible. So too my gentle question whether there was any way I could help either club. I guess having a weird Australian step-dad is something of an embarassment.

But you know that just makes it better to see her go off and do it herself, join the club, tie the flies (though she has a vice and access to a truckload of materials at the house), all because she wants to is way better than me taking her to the river under sufferance. Yep I’m pretty damn proud of her.

Oh and a big thanks to Mr Hargett and the other teachers who help out the class, plus the sponsors who offered up the prizes for the outing. Go Bombers.

Leave a Reply

