Steve Dally's White River Fly Fishing Guide Service

Weird Cloud Formations Monday

Looking west from Denton Ferry Road

Monday morning I was set to hit the water early, but the Child Bride wasn’t rising for work at 6am so we breakfasted late. I was heading out the door when I had a  phone call for a forgotten appointment with new sales rep Terry Beeson.

It was Terry’s first trip on the road for his new employers Hendrix Outdoors, so I couldn’t blow him off, besides he a mate and fun to be around. But I couldn’t even con him into some research on the river.  So I was driving along Denton Ferry Road, and some freaky cloud formations started rolling in.

Its turns out not only were they new to me but to a lot of even weather experts.

The clouds are a new type of cloud being considered for inclusion to the International Cloud Atlas by the World Meteorological Organization. The cloud is called Undulatus Asperatus which means roughened or agitated waves. The cloud is under review at this point because scientists are trying to determine if a specific set of atmospheric conditions are required for this cloud to form. The cloud is considered rare, has most often been seen on the plains of the United States during the morning or midday hours following a thunderstorm  _ from KY3.com

I wasn’t the only one wondering what sort of storm was going to hit. There was an exodus off the river at the Wildcat Ramp like you woulnd’t believe. I was watching the storms push in, split then weaken through Weather Underground’s local radar service which works really nicely on my new Blackberry 9700. Its got way better graphics than my old 8800 phone and I can zoom in much more precisely on the river to track storms. Its a really nice safety net in this part of the world.

Hence I was going fishing while others were heading home.

2 responses

  1. SwittersB

    Undulatus Asperatus=Biblical Moment

    June 26, 2010 at 8:42 am

  2. Definately was a little eerie watching it roll in, pretty awe inspiring if you like weather.

    June 30, 2010 at 8:55 am

Leave a Reply

